I make TV for a living. Here's my list for you (Off-Topic)

by Kahzgul, Monday, January 22, 2018, 12:14 (2347 days ago) @ Coaxkez

How far back do you want to go? I'll break this down into precursor shows, and then what I consider our "modern age":

Prologue:

The "Golden Age of Television" that we live in didn't happen overnight and was a slow burn at the beginning. Did you catch when the X-Files made the first non-soap-opera continuing narrative dramatic storyline in order to cover for the fact that Gillian Anderson was pregnant? That was the catalyst, and it happened way back in the 1990's.

Lost was a seminal point for these narrative dramas as it garnered a cult-like fanbase that watched the show religiously. It had several strong seasons, but the ending disappointed many, and the vast majority of plot points never paid off. Similarly, the behind the scenes drama of the show led to several high profile firings of the cast, resulting in dropped threads and many plot dead-ends. Still, this is an important show for understanding how we got to where we are today.

24 (season 2 is the best by a MILE) came out at the same time as the Lord of the Rings movies were making their way to DVD. The result was that fans of both took to binge watching. A 24-hour 24 marathon aired on TV, and many people had parties where they watched all 9 hours of the extended edition Lord of the Rings movies in a row. Thus, binge-watching became a Thing.